“A Sure Way To A Happy Day”

Happiness is something we create in our mind.

It’s not something you search for and seldom find.

It’s just waking up and beginning the day.

By counting our blessings and kneeling to pray.

It’s giving up thoughts that breed discontent

And accepting what comes as a gift heaven sent.

It’s giving up wishes for things we have not

And making the best of whatever we’ve got.

It’s knowing that life is determined for us

And doing our tasks without fret or fuss.

For it’s really completing what God gave us to do

That we find real contentment and happiness too.

“I wrote this on June 3rd, 1981 on my sweet and precious mom’s birthday. My poem to my darling Sherrie. I wrote this one morning after someone stole all of my Sherrie’s things while she was away. She was living in San Bernardino, CA. 6/3/1981.” 


I found this letter in my Mom’s Bible after she passed on. I believe it’s a poem originally written by Helen Steiner Rice. This letter is from my great grandmother (Grandma Berquam) who was my mother’s (Sherrie) favorite person and role model as she was growing up. I never had the pleasure of meeting her myself (at least I don’t remember her.), but I’m glad that I found a product of her beautiful soul. Maybe there’s more treasure I can find if I keep digging through stuff.

Leave a comment